Mariposa Awards 2023 – NOMINATIONS NOW OPEN

On Saturday the 11th March, Kym Marsh presented the Mariposa Awards 2022 at the Landmark Hotel in London, as part of the Mariposa Ball. The awards look to recognise the incredible work of bereavement and healthcare professionals from across the NHS and beyond, and the 2023 awards are now open for nominations. We are looking for nominations for a variety of categories, and must state, that the winner of each category is not based on the most nominations, but on the quality of the nominations a person receives. Winners of the 2022 awards included Charlotte Mutton, who won the Bereavement Midwife of the Year award, sponsored by the Entertainer, and Oonagh Pickering who won the Compassion Award, sponsored by Lovell Homes.

The awards will take place at the charity’s flagship ball in March 2024, with shortlisted finalists attending on the night, to see who will be this year’s winners. (

Categories you can nominate people for are:

The Archie Bereavement Professional of the Year 2023

This recognises excellence in bereavement care and looks to acknowledge the incredible service and care bereavement midwives, bereavement nurses and other bereavement specialists provide.

Bereavement Midwife of the Year 2023

This award looks to find the best bereavement midwife. We are looking for truly devoted individuals who offer the compassionate care needed by individuals, couples and families who suffer the tragedy of baby loss.

The Arlo Award

In memory of Arlo Mallen, who sadly passed away in 2021, this award is for a medical practitioner who has gone above and beyond in the level of care they have provided.

The Compassion Award

This award section looks to honour a GP, Doctor or Medical Professional who has shown genuine care and compassion for a patient who has suffered baby loss.

Midwife of the Year

This new award will recognise the important role of the midwife in caring for people during the pregnancy and birth journey.

Gynaecology Nurse of the Year

This new award is for a gynaecology nurse who has gone above and beyond in the care of a patient, who has had a baby loss, or has journeyed pregnancy after loss.

OBGYN Doctor of the Year

This award is for a doctor who has offered excellent compassionate care to a family through the loss of their baby, or through a pregnancy after loss.

The Community Award

This award is for someone in the community who has supported someone through baby loss. They could be medical professionals, community workers, social workers, members of the clergy, teacher, or just a general member of the public, who has truly got alongside and supported someone through their loss and grief.

The Lifetime Achievement Award

This special award looks to recognise a medical professional who has devoted their life to the care, and support of the bereaved. We are looking for a truly inspirational individual, who is deserving of recognition for their service.

The Fertility Champion Award

This award is for a true fertility champion, whether that be a doctor, clinician or a clinic. We are looking for a person or clinic that have excelled in caring and guiding for people through the difficult journey of fertility.

Nominations for the Mariposa Awards 2023 are now open, so please make your nomination via the form below.

Please note, that by submitting a nomination, you consent to us releasing information about your nomination to the nominee.