Mariposa Awards Results 2024

TV Presenter, Chef and Charity Ambassador Briony May Williams hosted the star-studded Mariposa Awards 2024, which were held as part of the Mariposa Ball, at the Landmark Hotel in London on the 16th March 2024. The awards which recognise excellence in bereavement care, from across the NHS and society, saw ten categories hotly contested with hundreds of nominations being received.

Awards Host Briony May Williams
Awards Host Briony May Williams

*Nominations for 2025 are now open so click here to nominate –*

The winners of the 2024 Mariposa Awards, ‘Special Recognition Awards’ recipients and ‘Outstanding Contribution’ recipients are as follows:

The Archie Bereavement Professional of the Year 2024

This award recognises excellence in care from a bereavement specialist, and was presented by Kym Marsh.

Winner – Veronica Spibey –

Special Recognition – Dr Laura Kollinsky, Christina Axton

Outstanding Contribution – Perdita Jeffers, Candice Noonan

The Arlo Award

In memory of Arlo Mallen, who sadly passed away in 2021, this award is for a medical practitioner who has gone above and beyond in the level of care they have provided. This award was presented by actress Jessica Fox.

Winner – Dr Elaine Church

The Community Award

This award is for someone in the community who has supported someone through baby loss. This award was presented by awards judge Rebekah Stocker.

Winner – Evie Thomas-Broomfield

Special Recognition – Jo Donlevy, Julie Ellingford, Chloe Howard

Outstanding Contribution – Chynna Desaxe

The Compassion Award

This award recognises compassionate care. This was presented by actress Kirsty Leigh Porter

Winners – Leanne Jeffrey, Sophie Leader

Special Recognition – Maxine Ridley-Snell

The Lifetime Achievement Award

This special award looks to recognise a medical professional who has devoted their life to the care, and support of the bereaved. This award was presented by winner of Love Island, Jessica Hayes

Winner – Rachel Small

OBGYN of the Year Award

This award is presented to an OBGYN who has displayed exceptional levels of clinical care and support for patients, and was presented by award judges Professor Nick Harding and Dr Kerry Bailey

Winner – Dr Louise Simcox

Special Recognition – Dr Oliver Wildman, Dr Kirsty Adcock, Dr Helen Le Grys

Outstanding Contribution – Dr Hannah Law, Dr Ahmad Nassar, Dr Jeannie Essex, Dr Sophie Haynes

Hero Award

Following a serious medical incident, which led to a successful resuscitation and recovery, the charity chose to recognise the extraordinary work of 2 off duty doctors. It was presented by TV Chef and Author Georgina Haydon.

Winners – Professor Nick Harding OBE and Dr Kerry Bailey

Midwife of the Year Award

This award looks to recognise the incredible midwives who form the backbone of maternity care. It was presented by International News Anchor Rhiannon Jones.

Winner – Caroline Judge

Special Recognition – Rebecca Crook, Gillian Campbell, Lauren McDonald-Wright.

Outstanding Contribution – Jane Slaughter, Erin Tanyar, Michaela Douma, Navi Fernandes

Bereavement Midwife of the Year 2024

This award looks to find the best bereavement midwife. Presented by actress Natalie Anderson

Winner: Kate Boxall

Special Recognition: Emma Barritt, Sara Hunt, Samantha Behagg, Marie Kelleher

Outstanding Contribution: Amy Barnes, Barbara Gergett, Kirsty Malcolm, Ali Brett

Bereavement Team of the Year 2024

2 Winners: Kings Mill Hospital, Blossom Team at Broomfield Hospital

Special Recognition: Queens Hospital, Burton, Lotus Team at St Mary’s Hospital, Northampton General Hospital.

Outstanding Contribution: Leeds Teaching Hospital, George Eliot Hospital

*Nominations for 2025 are now open so click here to nominate –*

Gallery of Winners, Special Recognition and Outstanding Contribution award winners

Nominations for 2025 are now open.